Royal Red Heart Cupcake Toppers

I’ve got a couple of new stuff I’ve baked recently and am extremely happy with. For peanut butter lovers and chocolate lovers alike. Problem is, it is almost midnight as I write this, I have to wake up early tomorrow morning and my recipe book happens to be on the top shelf of a cabinet about 12 feet away. So I’ll post the pictures and recipes some other time.
Instead, I want to share with you pictures of these vivid red cupcakes toppers I made out of royal icing.cupcake with heart royal icing1
It’s almost February and a lot of people are already busy with orders for Valentine’s! Personally, I don’t treat Valentine’s Day any differently, it’s NOT a non-working holiday so it certainly feels like a regular day. Plus, the whole bouquet of flowers on V-Day? It doesn’t really work for me.
But give me a box of chocolates or cupcakes…and I will instantly follow you like a lovesick puppy!royal icing hearts wet

royal icingThese photos show my first attempts at royal icing. I piped the hearts on acetate that I wiped a bit with shortening. I didnt realize the toppers would take so long to dry! I made the hearts for my sister-in-law’s birthday dinner the following night and the royal icing was still very soft and terribly fragile. I should have let them dry for at least 2 days. Oh well.royal icing hearts
I managed to get all the cupcakes decorated and that’s what counts. I am tempted to do this again for Valentine’s day to give to my relatives. Apart from the drying time, you finish so much in less than an hour!cupcake with heart royal icing
You don’t even have to wait for Valentine’s Day to make these!
Because everyday should be Valentine’s Day! (Cheesy, I know haha!)

4 thoughts on “Royal Red Heart Cupcake Toppers

Leave a comment